How Long It Takes To Get A Social Security Disability Hearing.

I am frequently asked how long it takes to get a Social Security Disability or SSI hearing.  This is a difficult question to answer because very case is different and every hearing office has different degrees of back logs.  But this page should give you an idea.

Below you will find the average amount of days it takes by region to get a Social Security hearing.  The information comes from the OHA Case Control System.  These statistics are based on regions which include many ODAR (OHA) offices so your particular hearing office may be different but this should give you an idea of how long you have to wait.  If you are looking for how long it takes to get a decision from the time you request a hearing untill it is decided at your particular ODAR see "how long does it take".

Amount of days from request for hearing until hearing is held.

Region I 354 days.
Region II 484 days.
Region III 348 days.
Region IV 421 days.
Region V 501 days.
Region VI 393 days.
Region VII 390 days.
Region VIII 402 days.
Region IX 290 days.
Region X 539 days.

Post hearing processing times which means from hearing held to decision.

Region I 69 days.
Region II 59 days.
Region III 52 days.
Region IV 77 days.
Region V 77 days.
Region VI 71 days.
Region VII 75 days.
Region VIII 63 days.
Region IX 53 days.
Region X 68 days.

Region I includes Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Connecticut, Maine and Rhode Island.
Region II includes New York, Puerto Rico and New Jersey.
Region III includes Pennsylvania, Virginia, West Virginia, Maryland, and Washington DC.
Region IV includes Georgia, Alabama, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Florida, Mississippi, Kentucky, and Illinois.
Region V includes Illinois, Ohio, Michigan, Indiana, Wesconsin, and Minnesota.
Region VI includes Texas, Louisiana, Arkansas, Oklahoma, and Louisiana.
Region VII includes Missouri, Nebraska, Illinois, Iowa, and Kansas.
Region VIII includes Montana, Colorado, Idaho, Wyoming, Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota, Iowa, and Utah.
Region IX includes California, Nevada, Hawaii, Nevada, Utah, and Arizona.
Region X includes Oregon, Washington, and Alaska.

We have attempted to provide up to date and accurate information, however the information in this site is not guaranteed.  No attorney client realtionship exist.  The information in this site is not a substitute for consultation with a quilified attorney.
© 2006 by Kazmierczak & Kazmierczak, LLP. All rights reserved.